Scroll to content
School Logo

Hillsborough Nursery & Primary School

Believe. Belong. Become.

Meet the Governors


Hillsborough Primary School is part of Tapton School Academy Trust. The Trust Board is responsible for all of the schools within the Trust and determines the mission, vision and Trust improvement strategy. Local context and community links are provided by Local Governing Boards. 


Our Local Governing Board is combined with Meynell and Southey Green and consists of representatives from staff, parents/carers and the wider community. It provides support and challenge to senior leaders at the school, whilst reviewing and monitoring areas for which it has delegated responsibility from the Trust Board. These include:


  • Ensuring that the voice of all stakeholders is heard and taken into account in the work of the Trust and the school. 
  • Ensuring that we meet the needs of our community through effective engagement. 
  • Ensuring that the experience and welfare of our pupils, including their curriculum, is well-matched to the needs of our community. 
  • Challenging the school to ensure deployment of financial resource best fits the needs of the whole school. 


Further information about the Trust governance structure and the role of the Local Governing Board is available on the Trust website:


Tapton School Academy Trust - Governance

Members of the Local Governing Board


Julie Burkinshaw - Chair

I have been involved in school governance for many years and I greatly enjoy working with the staff and pupils in the schools and throughout the Trust. 


I still do regular supply teaching, mainly in the Barnsley area. This means that I keep up to date with themes and trends in education, which helps me to fulfil my governor role as effectively as possible.


In my spare time, I enjoy walking and gardening but my favourite hobby is singing as a member of Barnsley singers, a local community choir for which I also have a volunteer role.


Andrew Hards - Community Governor













Catherine Sawkins - Community Governor












Chris Gray - Staff Governor











Hannah Shotton - Staff Governor











Phillipe Buchy - Parent Governor